Waste5Minutes

It's gotta be better than what you should be doing

Archive for October 20th, 2009

WTF Kinda Week

Posted by spongebobmyshow on October 20, 2009

Now is it just me or was this week just on the weirder side of things?  Both in my personal life and across the nation I think some really bizarre shit went down.  The kind of stuff that just makes you turn around and ask yourself “What the fuck? Really? Did that shit really just happen?”  So here is my recap of some of the crazy shit that went down this week, in chronological order and arbitrarily starting on Sunday.

#1) Broncos go 5-0:  Now I am not the biggest sports fan around and so I certainly didn’t listen to all the pre-season stuff that got said about the Broncos.  This past Sunday was also one of the few times I actually sat down  and watched a Broncos game.  All I had heard is that we weren’t supposed to be that good and even during brunch everyone (and by everyone I mean my brother) was saying they didn’t expect the Broncos to win.  I don’t have anything intelligent or profound to say about the game itself, just that it was fun and it went into overtime and it had a lot of people asking “The Broncos are 5-0?!?! WTF??”

#2 Rockies Get Eliminated in NLDS-  Now I was at this game, not to mention sitting next to Phillies fans, and it was just absolutely heartbreaking.  To be ONE FUCKING PITCH away with your start closer on the mound and see him give up a two run double was terrible.  I don’t know how you real sports fans suffer through this shit year after year.  I am trying to think of an appropriate “breaking up with someone” analogy, but I think all of you out there get what I mean.  I also realized that I saw both the first and last games played at Coors Field this season and I feel like I can officially call myself a Rockies fan.

#3) 4th Major Bodily Substance Encountered at Work-  Some of the time at work I do things that are fun, productive, and truly rewarding.  The other 95% of things are not.  This weeks fun task was helping a kid clean up his own shit after accidentally defecating on the floor.  I had thus far encountered blood, vomit (often a mixture of both), and urine.  I was hoping I could make it without actual shit, but I was wrong.

#4) Nation Enthralled by Empty Weather Balloon- I think this is the biggest WTF moment of the week, if not the year so far.  Now I didn’t get a chance to watch all the craziness on Thursday, so when I got home and found out the nation spent half the day worrying about a kid in a balloon, so much so they shut down the airport and re-routed flights in and out of DIA, I was like WTF??  This whole event is just so damned bizarre and this family so fucking crazy it kinda makes your head spin.

So there you have it… my biggest WTF moments of the week.  If you have any yourself, feel free to share.

Posted in Broncos, MLB, NFL, Rockies | 1 Comment »

NFL queries…

Posted by ajbeitscher on October 20, 2009

[Ed. note – still working out the kinks of the blog. This post and Peter’s just above were submitted before today. You guys should have the power to publish them yourselves – just hit publish when you are done. If not – I have to look into increasing your access to the site]

My thoughts and questions as this week happens…

1 – Who is the favorite this year?  Is there one?  Best NFC team is the Saints. They are the best team in football after their dismantling of the Giants.  With a running game that forces teams to commit to stopping it, they lose because they cannot stop Brees.  Best AFC team is the……..?  Colts I guess.  In 5 more weeks there will already be 5 teams of the playoffs in the AFC set. There are really only 7 viable teams though.  Colts, Broncos, Pats, Jets, Ravens, Steelers, Bengals…anybody else gonna be able to make a push?

2 – Coaches may matter as much in the NFL, if not more, than players.  Especially position coaches and coordinators.  Ex head coaches who are now Defensive Coordinators have been the biggest pick up this year. (see Broncos, Denver and Saints, New Orleans) In the case of the Broncos, the D-Line coach was stolen from the Chargers…how’s their D line playing?….and Mike Nolan has crafted an incredible 5-2 scheme for his players.  And anybody that says Broncos aren’t a more well prepared team every week this season w/ McDaniels hasn’t watched the Broncos w/ Shanahan in about 8 years.

3 – Peyton Manning is amazing.  He is the only reason that Brees will not win the MVP.  Great recievers aren’t found that easily.  He turns every one into a quality find.  Who ever heard of Austin Collie or Pierre Garcon?

4 – What happened to the NFC East?  Aren’t they supposed to be the NFC “Beast” division.  And every team was supposed to win 3 if not 4 games against the lowly AFC West.  I mean granted I think the Chiefs and Raiders are painful bad….but why did the ‘Skins lose, and why are the Eagles losing?

5 – What’s up w/ New England? and what does it say about their opponents?  They’re beating the Titans 45-0 at half…what?!  Is this the same team that lost to the Broncos last week?  But then again, they beat the Ravens, or are the Ravens really that good?  This is more confusing than…anybody make sense of this?….ok it’s now 52-0

6 – So Favre has helped the Vikings win two games pretty much….well the Ravens helped lose today but I digress…but would he have helped any other team in the NFL this year?  Vikings have AP, and a good defense…

This was more than 5 minutes.  Damn.  My gross grade will suffer for this.

Posted in NFL | 1 Comment »

WOW

Posted by sburk44 on October 20, 2009

What an evening of sports…I was stuck working most of the night but seemed to catch the big plays online when I needed to. I’ll have more thoughts on the broncos game later today (maybe tonight).

Meanwhile – we saw more bullpen woes, including ANOTHER DOMINANT closer unable to get a save. That officially makes every team in the playoffs guilty except the Yankees of their closer/or dominant 8th inning guy blowing the lead. Mariano somehow escaped bases loaded with no outs the inning before the angels eventually won.

Talk about last nights events here in the comments – or be the brave first person to add a post besideds me.

Posted in Last Night | Tagged: , , | 3 Comments »